The Beginning of the End

Been thinking and reading all those travel blogs I love to read, I should take control of my life. I mean, I’m 21 currently, and why am I stuck home in the middle of nowhere in New York? Well, a few days ago, I decided to buy ticket to begin my journey.

The end of my misery and the beginning of my joy is near. On March 22, I’ll be jetting off to Berlin, Deutschland (Germany). Yep, you heard that right, Berlin. I’m a city girl at heart, and I figured Berlin would be a good place for me to begin. Why on March 22nd? Well, in three days after arriving in Berlin, hopefully without a hitch, I’ll be celebrating my 22nd year on earth. Most likely partying until the wee night on my birthday.

That’s not the only reason I’m going to Deutschland. Another is my heritage. I’m of German heritage, and I’m curious if the people there will say my last name in the correct form at first glance. Here, in America, people routinely mess up my last name, even though it’s a very simple last name. Even they spell it wrong at times. Due to my personal reasons, I’m not going to reveal my last name here on this blog. Those that know me personally knows my last name.

Languages always have interested me. I want to learn German, but I don’t have the patience for classroom instructions, due to the lack of motivation in that surrounding. I figured maybe immersing myself in Germany, will I learn German. It will be a struggle, due to my deafness. I might as well be more able to read and write in German than to speak it.

After Deutschland, I’ll let the wind take me wherever in the world. Maybe Eastern Europe or the Balkans region of Europe. Then wherever I decide. I don’t have much of an itinerary at all. Maybe that’s not a good idea? But I don’t want things to be planned far in the unknown future. I want the flexibility and the freedom to have a change at moment’s notice.

I’m just excited to get out of here and start living my life on my on terms. I needed a way to get out, and an opportunity came. I will take every single opportunity to leave my boring miserable life here for an adventure of my lifetime.

Yes, I’m a solo deaf traveler, but that won’t stop me. I have no idea if other deaf people travel by themselves, since all the other deaf people I KNOW traveled with other deaf people. I’m sure I’m NOT the first solo deaf traveler. Is there a blog from another deaf solo traveler out there? Maybe I’m the first to blog about it? Who knows. But all I care is that I do what I love to do, and that’s traveling and learning languages.

*The picture in this post is from my favorite secret location near my old college. It’s a semi-illegal place. I don’t know if it’s legal to there or not, due to Public Safety patrolling the place every few hours. Being an adventurous person, I like to seek out places that’s hidden in plain sight that have a fine line of legality.

Leave a Reply

