A Serbian Enlightment

Why do people always think that Serbians are out to get other people, that they were considered evil or whatever? That’s to me is a blatant prejudice against a nation in Europe. Is it because of what happened in the past?

Well, guess what, wake up to reality everybody! Serbia is one awesome country that deserves to be discovered for what it is in reality, not what the media says. This post was inspired by a conversation I had with a new Serbian friend, after she said that she wants people to change the way they see Serbians. What can I say about that? Well, the media is to blame. They painted an ugly picture of the country as a whole, that the people are hostile, and not recommended to visit the country.

Hell, even my family asks me if Serbia is a safe country to visit. My answer to them is that Serbia is safer than the small town I was forced to live while in the USA. Sorry to those from the town where I lived if they knew it, but it’s the truth. I couldn’t go out at 2am back where I lived in the USA. Here, especially in Belgrade, it’s perfectly fine and safe to go out at 2am to a 24 hours market a 10 minutes walk away and not be scared. Hell, the streets are usually filled of people, and what I mean are the normal sorts of people, not the bad sorts.

The people here in Serbia are friendly and would love to get to know people. I have made friends here in Serbia and they are awesome. Why are people so damn close minded to discover this country? If they bothered to see the country as it is, they would learn that people here are friendly and proud of the country.

In reality, I only planned to stay a few weeks here, but I fell in love with the country and its people. I’m never bored here and I absolutely enjoyed living here for a few months. I will definitely not want to leave mid September, but there’s legalities to keep in mind.

So, I highly recommend you guys visit this gem in the Balkans region and open your mind. You’ll be glad you did.

Ја Волим Сбрилија. ❤

Leave a Reply

